Anne Frank Center honors Estela de Carlotto and US Ambassador Marc Stanley

The first Anne Frank Awards for inclusion, democracy and human rights included dozens of renowned Argentine figures and institutions

Grandmothers of Plaza de Mayo leader Estela de Carlotto, US ambassador Marc Stanley, and Argentina, 1985 actor Ricardo Darín were among the first recipients of the newly-created Anne Frank Awards, granted by Argentina’s Anne Frank Center for Latin America (CAFA) on its 15th anniversary. 

The Monday night ceremony at the San Martin Theater awarded several Argentine personalities and institutions whose work contributed to coexistence in diversity and inclusion as well as human rights advocacy. 

“As bearers of the legacy of Anne Frank and her impact on our history, we intend to acknowledge outstanding personalities and institutions in supporting the values ​​that we uphold: memory, the defense of human rights, non-violence, non-discrimination, and coexistence in diversity,” said Héctor Shalom, head of CAFA.

At the ceremony, Carlotto underlined that the “work of memory” is now in the hands of the younger generations, especially following the recent deaths of fellow activists Nora Cortiñas (Mothers of Plaza de Mayo) and Lita Boitano (Relatives of the Disappeared for Political Reasons). 

US Ambassador Marc Stanley was awarded for his commitment to the promotion of the memory of the Holocaust both in the United States and Argentina. 

Other recipients included America Corporation CEO Eduardo Eurnekian and Infobae CEO Daniel Hadad. Eurnekian was rewarded for his commitment to the memory of the Armenian genocide and Holocaust. Hadad received his prize on behalf of his online newspaper, for its commitment to upholding Holocaust memory and Anne Frank’s legacy.

River Plate Football Club was rewarded for its solidarity and educational projects across the country, which offers access to quality education for 1700 people, and help 8000 athletes develop their careers in 47 different sports. River Plate president Jorge Brito received the prize.

The awards list also included Holocaust survivor Monica Dawidowicz, former legislator Omar Abboud, Rabbi Silvina Chemen, prosecutor Alejandra Mángano, Buenos Aires Holocaust Museum director Marcelo Mindlin, and journalist Romina Manguel. 

You may also be interested in: She survived Auschwitz. Then Argentina’s dictatorship took her child


All Right Reserved.  Buenos Aires Herald