December 14, 2017

Buenos Aires indie film festival closes tonight

Sunday, April 13, 2014

US-French Fifi Howls From Happiness wins Bafici

A scene from El escarabajo de oro, one of Bafici’s top winners.
A scene from El escarabajo de oro, one of Bafici’s top winners.
A scene from El escarabajo de oro, one of Bafici’s top winners.

Fifi Howls From Happiness by Iranian filmmaker Mitra Farahani won the top prize in the International competition of the 16th Buenos Aires International Film Festival (Bafici), while El escarabajo de oro (The Gold Beetle) by Alejo Moguillansky and Fia-Stina Sandlund triumphed in the Argentine competition. Bafici closes tonight with the projection of The Second Game by Romanian director Corneliu Porumboiu, but the awards were given yesterday.

This year’s edition of Bafici has brought more than 400 films seen by almost 100 thousand people who have watched between three to four films each. The annual indie festival has also offered different cultural activities such as shows, exhibitions and talks.

Fifi Howls from Happiness — a co-production between the United States and France — is about combative and charismatic Iranian artist Bahman Mohasses. The Best Director award went for filmmakers Daniel Vega and Diego Vega for El Mudo (Peru/Mexico/France) in the International Official Competition.

El escarabajo de oro is an Argentine-Sweden-Denmark co-production, about a filmmaking team using the shooting for an amazing treasure hunt. The film is a satire to independent cinema written by Mariano Llinas. Gustavo Fontán won as Best Director for El Rostro in this same competition.

The first prize of the Short Films Official Competition was for Lo que dicen del monte, by Octavio Tavares and Francisca Oyaneder.

The winners were announced yesterday at noon by Bafici director Marcelo Panozzo and Buenos Aires city Culture Minister Hernán Lombardi at a press conference in the Centro Cutural Recoleta, one of the festival’s venue.

All The winners.

Internacional Competition: Best Film: Fifi Howls From Happiness (US-France) by Mitra Farahani; Jury Special Award: Mauro (Argentina), by Hernán Rosselli; Best Director: Daniel Vega and Diego Vega for El mundo (Peru-Mexico-France); Best Actress: Sophie Desnarais, for Sara Préfère la course (Canada); Best Actor: Fernando Bacillo por El mundo (Peru-Mexico-France); Special Mention: El futuro (Spain) by Luis López Carrasco.

Argentine Competition: Best Film: El escarabjo de oro (Argentina-Sweden-Denmark) by Alejo Moguillansky and Fia-Stina Sandlund; Best Director: Gustavo Fontán for El rostro (Argentina); Special Mention: Carta a un padre (Argentina-France) by Edgardo Cozarinsky; Public Award: Mientras estoy cantando (Argentina) by Julián Montero Ciancio.

Avant-garde and genre: Big Prize: Manakama (US-Nepal) by Stephanie Spray and Pacho Vélez; Best Feature: It for others (UK) by Duncan Campbell; Special Mention - Feature: Living Stars (Argentina) by Mariano Cohn and Gastón Duprat; Best Short Film: Redemption (Portugal-France-Germany-Italy) by Miguel Gomes; Special Mention - Short Film: Alan vega, Just a Million Dreams (France-US) by Marie Loisier

Human Rights Competition: Best Film: El cuarto desnudo (Mexico) by Nuria Ibáñez; Special Mention: ReMine, el último movimiento obrero (Spain) by Marcos Martínez Merino

Argentine Short Films: First Prize: Lo que dicen del monte by Octavio Tavares and Francisca Oyaneder; Second Prize: La reina by Manuel Abramovich; Special Mentions: Rockero Reyes by Romina Cohn and No sé María by Paula Grinzpan.

Non-Official Prizes: Argentine Association of Cinema Reporters (ACCA): Carta a un padre by Edgardo Cozarinsky; International Federation of Film Press (Fipresci): Mauro (Argentina) by Hernán Rosselli; World Catholic Association for Communication (SIGNIS): Sarah préfère la course (Canada) by Chloé Robichaud and Special Mention for La salada (Argentina) by Juan Martín Hsu; Latin American Federation of Image and Sound Schools (FEISAL): Ciencias naturales (Argentina) by Matías Lucchesi and Special Mention for Castanha (Brazil) by David Pretto; Argentine Cinematography Authors (ADF): cinematographer Fernando Lockett for Algunas chicas (Argentina). — Herald with Télam

  • Increase font size Decrease font sizeSize
  • Email article
  • Print
  • Share
    1. Vote
    2. Not interesting Little interesting Interesting Very interesting Indispensable

  • Increase font size Decrease font size
  • mail
  • Print

    ámbito financiero    Docsalud    

Edition No. 5055 - This publication is a property of NEFIR S.A. -RNPI Nº 5343955 - Issn 1852 - 9224 - Te. 4349-1500 - San Juan 141 , (C1063ACY) CABA - Director Perdiodístico: Ricardo Daloia